Saturday, February 15, 2014

California Armenian Home gets paid a visit by TJC formally known as JCAHO

Quality and patient safety are of the utmost importance to health care organizations. The standard of care a hospital, physicians' office, pharmacy or nursing home delivers is vital to a patient's well-being and recovery. The Joint Commission (TJC), formerly the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO), establishes standards by which health care organizations are expected to perform. These standards are designed to ensure the health of the public

Read more:

Our friends tell us that the TJC auditors paid a visit to the California Armenian Home last week.  Despite all their flaws and shortcomings, more than likely they will receive their accreditation with some sort of small fine and improvement.  Ah it's always about money.   Carry on Yuba, don't worry no one else wants your job, no doubt your handful of ass kissers will make you look good

Accreditation and Certification

  • TJC accredits hospitals, critical access hospitals, long-term care facilities, ambulatory facilities, behavioral care facilities, home care organizations, office-based surgery providers and laboratories. To earn accreditation, these providers must show that they meet TJC's standards for their particular program. TJC certification is awarded to individual, disease-based programs and services. Certification can also be given to health care staffing services.


  • TJC develops standards for each of the programs eligible for accreditation. For example, a hospital has a certain set of standards, while a laboratory has another set. However, all standards are focused on patient safety and quality. TJC uses the same broad categories to define its standards, although not all categories may be applicable to all programs. These categories include emergency management, environment of care, human resources, infection control and prevention, information management, life safety, medication management, individual rights and responsibilities and transplant safety.


  • During unannounced surveys, TJC staff will observe clinical and nonclinical staff. Staff will also randomly choose patient records, then trace that patient's experience from beginning to end to determine if standards are being met. TJC uses this information to grant or deny accreditation or certification. Accredited providers must undergo surveys every three years, with the exception of laboratories, which undergo a survey every two years. Programs receiving certification are also re-evaluated every two years.

Read more:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.